Excerpt of Your Invitation to Paris

FYI: The title of my book is how my blog got its name! You can get your full copy of Your Invitation to Paris here

11-watermarked
Paris view

And then suddenly we were back at the Eiffel Tower! It was time to ascend and see the city of Paris. I could not contain my excitement. I walked up to the tower, then underneath it and looked up! So cool! Inna and I looked at each of the four corners of the tower, to figure out how to get to the top.

12-watermarked
Looking down into the park from the Eiffel Tower

The first leg would take us up to the restaurant. Since Paris was the first stop of this two-country trip, I was too cheap to go up and eat there. Maybe next time. Two of the other three corners seemed to be a bit more expensive than the third, and being the blonde that I am, I could not figure out why… that is until I actually paid for my ticket up. You guessed it: the side I had chosen to take was the stairs. Thankfully, Inna was game, and up the stairs we went. All 668 of them. Man! I glad I had taken the bus all day. 🙂

27-watermarked
Paris in the Fall

The climb was worth it. It was beautiful. While I was up on the Tower dusk began to fall and the city began to light up. For the first time that trip I began to think how it would be so romantic if I was here with a guy. Oh well. It was still delightful!

 

We stayed up there until it had gotten dark and the Tower was lit up against the night sky. I knew I had to see it from the ground, so we found the stairs. Now here is something I had not thought of: I am not a huge fan of heights. I can handle them ok when I am not watching my feet descend. This story might not have been as dramatic for me if we had descended the stairs while it was still light, but it was totally dark now except for the webbed metal Tower I was standing on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThank you Inna (click the link for her awesome Instagram shots) or this shot of me!

Then suddenly, there were sparkling and twinkling lights flashing. I froze on the stairs, freaking out. I called to Inna and said, “You have to slow down!” I was terrified I was going to fall, silly as that may have been. There was no way that my foot or body could have slipped between those stairs, but the mind plays tricks. Bless Inna’s heart, she slowed way down and kept encouraging me until we hit the ground. I wanted to kiss it, but refrained.

5 thoughts on “Excerpt of Your Invitation to Paris

  1. Pingback: Packers Vs 49ers – Your Invitation To~

  2. You sure did miss a lot. I didn’t go around all 17 days I was there, as my Aunt and Uncle were working but they sure took me nice places. Versailles is a place you have to get into as well as Fountainbleu and inside Notre Dame and Chartres Cathderal. The Louvre was just closed when I got there for renovations. They were just building the pyramids outside and my thought was they were ruining the outside view of the architecture. I didn’t get to see all the beautiful gardens at Versailles, but I’m sure they pale in comparison to the insides! Thankfully, my Aunt and Uncle are bi-lingul so I had my own translators. We would tail onto English speaking tour groups inside the palaces. Amazing how different things used to be! Commoners would look in the windows while the queen gave birth!
    Inside Notre Dame was a plus for me as I studied it in college art history, the flying buttresses and such. To see it in person was phenomenal. You can’t get the scope without being there. Like the grand Canyon, you can’t imagine it through photos. I truly believe you will get back to Paris! Make a trip with at least a week there for yourself. There truly is too much to see. Oh, and I really wanted to see the prison that is near Notre Dame but didn’t get a chance and there’s a military museum someplace. I went to the Muse D’Orsey alone and got lost on the trains alone! That was a nightmare. …..

    Like

    1. How interesting. Thanks for sharing. I have seen photos of the inside of Versailles and man alive it looks incredible. You are so fortunate that you got to go inside. It really does help to travel with folks who are bi-lingul. I have found the touristy prices chance dramaticly when the seller is not being spoken to in English. Sadly I only speak English but Inna and my other friend that I have traveled with in Europe both speak several languages.
      I had no idea you studied art history. I bet you loved going and seeing all the insides of places. You are so right one does not get the full scope of things unless you have been there.
      I want to hear your train story now. Aaaa these pleasures and terrors that make up such great stories all these years laters.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My train story was a nightmare to me! I think my Aunt got tired of me being around the house and she thought I should be a “big girl” and venture out alone. Mind you, I was in my mid 20’s, spoke no French and had only walked the circle of their village alone. She wanted me to get on the train and go sightseeing! I think we had already gone into Paris, we must have as train stops had names that looked familiar. So, she wrote the instructions on a piece of paper in French for me to give to the person at the train station, not instructions for me. (We must have gone by metro previously ) I was scared to death but they expected me to do this so I went. I got my ticket, got on the train (the station was a short walk from their home) and set off to Paris. It seemed to me that I wasn’t heading the right direction. I looked at the map in the train and I pretty much knew something wasn’t right. A lady started to try and talk to me and was trying to get me to follow her. She just seemed too eager. I had read about theives and gypsies so I was on guard about this and she just didn’t seem quite right too me. She kept insisting I get off with her so I decided to just let her think I would, she got off, the doors closed and I stayed on till the next stop and then got off. What a huge mistake! I was in the middle of nowhere with a group of deadbeat drugged out people on a platform. No inside building, no train personel insight, no bathrooms, no help anywhere. I’m in France, alone, there are no cell phones back then and if I had one, I didn’t even have my Aunt & Uncles phone number or address with me! What was I thinking? I just wanted to cry but couldn’t, I couldn’t let these people around me see what a predicament I was in. It seemed like forever before another train showed up going in the opposite direction. I boarded that train and thankfully, I soon saw familiar signs. I got off where I was supposed to and enjoyed a day at the Musee D’Orsey alone. That’s an Art Museum in an old train station, 6 stories high. I bought their book in English and went to every painting/sculpture and floor with that book on my own. I have a degree in Commercial Art.

        Like

      2. Wow that would be really freaky. Thanks so much for sharing your harrowing experience with me. I am so glad you got it all sorted out in the end and were still able to enjoy your day. The Musee D’Orsey sounds so interesting. An Art Museum that was an old train station such fun. I want to go again now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

